Texas Managing Editors

2011 contest rules now available

It is time to begin assembling your entries for the premier competition in Texas journalism, the Texas APME Headliners Excellence in Journalism Awards. Besides the awards in each circulation division, we will once again pit the four circulation division winners against one another in a second competition, culminating in the Charles E. Green awards bestowed by the Headliners Foundation. One major change this year – we are going to electronic filing of all entries.Those Charles E. Green awards are:

  • Star Reporter of the Year
  • Star Photojournalist of the Year
  • Star Designer of the Year
  • Star Investigative Report of the Year
  • Star Breaking News Report of the Year

Also, don’t forget to send in your best entries for the Newspaper of the Year Award.The deadline for entries will be midnight, Friday, Jan. 21, 2011 for electronic entries and 5 p.m. Friday, Jan. 21, 2011 for mailed entries. The electronic entry submission system will be available during the first week of January and a link will be available from txapme.com. The contest period covers work done from Jan. 1 to Dec. 31, 2010, with exceptions as noted in the rules.A complete copy of the rules is now available for download, as well as classifications by newspaperIf you have questions about the rules, contact this year’s contest coordinators:

  • Shane Fitzgerald, Editor, Corpus Christi Caller-Times, 820 N. Lower Broadway, Corpus Christi, TX 78401, fitzgeralds@caller.com, 361-886-3688
  • Yvonne Mintz, Managing Editor, The Facts, 720 S. Main, Clute, TX 77531; yvonne.mintz@thefacts.com or 979-237-0144.

ALL checks should be made payable to Texas APME, envelope addressed to Chief of Bureau, The Associated Press, 4851 LBJ Freeway, Suite 300, Dallas, TX 75244.The winners will be announced at the 2011 convention planned for March 25-27 in Tyler. See you there!


Submit convention registration fees here.