Texas Managing Editors

Journalism is an orchestra, and we are the musicians. 

Everyone is invited to the concert on April 19-21 in Temple. It’s a moment you don’t want your newsroom to miss.

The talents we are celebrating run deep — from digital experts and sports writers to city hall watchdogs and all the journalists who make sure our pieces hit the write (Forgive the pun. We couldn’t help ourselves.) notes.

Join us Friday evening for a laid-back opening reception to get to know your colleagues from across the state. 

We have experts coming in Saturday to share their resources and knowledge on topics like politics, AI and cutting through the distractions when covering education. Yes, there will be lunch.

And the awards? Oh, there will be awards. 

Who will win Newsroom of the Year? Whose team coverage of the biggest news events of 2023 rose above the rest? Texas’ best photojournalist, opinion writer, online package of the year — the suspense is killing us.

The annual TME awards dinner is Saturday night, featuring a live and silent auction to raise money for our most important mission — paying for internships that get the next generation of young journalists into smaller-market newsrooms for real-world experience.

After industry, open government and legislative updates on Sunday,  the final, most prestigious award winners are named. 

Let’s go! 

Register for the conference here. Book your hotel room at Hilton Garden Inn Temple Medical Center (Don’t forget to mention Texas Managing Editors when you make your reservation).

We’ll see you there!

Questions? Reach out to us at texasmanagingeditors@gmail.com.

Meanwhile, here’s a peak at what you can expect:


  • Win-wins: Partnerships between newspapers and student newsrooms — Working with college student journalists to get data-driven, narrative and local news stories.
  • What’s the story: Narrative investigations — How to pull off a narrative investigation, including story selection, source psychology, caring for your reporters and so much more.
  • Get smart: Improving education coverage — Cutting through the noise of the culture wars to what really matters.
  • Awards luncheon
  • Evening reception, auction
  • Dinner, TME star awards presentation
  • Buster Haas scholarship and internship announcement


  • Know your rights: 2024 elections edition — Understanding reporters’ legal rights and the free legal resources available to support election coverage is essential.
  • Ask a lawyer.
  • Newsroom of the Year and Star of Stars Headliners Awards

Texas Managing Editors sponsors the Buster Haas Minority lnternship Program, which aims to increase the number of minority journalists working in newsrooms across Texas.

TME places interns at Texas newspapers with circulations of 30,000 or less for 10 weeks over the summer. Students receive $3,000 stipends, plus $1,000 for living expenses. Upon successful completion of the internship, students receive $500 scholarships.

Continue reading “Internship application deadline extended through March 1”

1929-1950: James R. RecordFort Worth Star-Telegram
1950: Tanner T. Hunt, Beaumont Enterprise
1951: Charles A. GuyLubbock Avalanche-Journal
1952: J.Q. MahaffeyTexarkana Gazette and News
1953: Dwight AllisonSan Antonio Light
1954: Harry BlandingTemple Telegram
1955: Ray ParrAmarillo Globe-News
1956: Roderick J. WattsHouston Chronicle
1957: Bill CollynsMidland Reporter-Telegram
1958: Felix R. McKnightDallas Times Herald
1959: Ed. N. WishcamperAbilene Reporter-News
1960: Bill LathamEl Paso Times
1961: John EllisFort Worth Star-Telegram
1962: Dave HosterVictoria Advocate
1963: Charles O. Kilpatrick, San Antonio Express-News
1964: William C. DozierTyler Courier-Times-Telegraph
1965: Robert M. JacksonCorpus Christi Caller-Times
1966: Edwin D. HunterHouston Post
1967: Jack B. KruegerThe Dallas Morning News
1968: Joe PickleBig Spring Herald
1969: Clayte BinionHouston Chronicle
1970: John L. StallingsCorpus Christi Caller-Times
1971: Don BoyetteBeaumont Enterprise and Journal
1972: Jack DouglasFort Worth Star-Telegram
1973: Dick TarpleyAbilene Reporter-News
1974: Tom SimmonsThe Dallas Morning News
1975: Bill MartinSan Angelo Standard-Times
1976: Everett Taylor, Tyler Courier-Times-Telegraph
1977: John AndersonCorpus Christi Caller-Times
1978: Olin AshleyOdessa American
1979: Jack TinsleyFort Worth Star-Telegram
1980: Fritz WirtDel Rio News-Herald
1981: Buster HaasThe Dallas Morning News
1982: Burle PettitLubbock Avalanche-Journal
1983: Kuyk LoganHouston Post
1984: Jerry HuffAmarillo Globe-News
1985: Phil SchochSan Angelo Standard-Times
1986: John MooreEl Paso Times
1987: Dub BrownPort Arthur News
1988: Jeff BruceLongview News-Journal
1989: Terry Scott BertlingEl Paso Herald-Post
1990: Tony PedersonHouston Chronicle
1991: Ed RademaekersSan Antonio Light
1992: Olaf FrandsenOdessa American
1993: Paula MooreEl Paso Times
1994: Wanda CashGalveston County Daily News
1995: Mike BlackmanFort Worth Star-Telegram
1996: Glenn DromgooleAbilene Reporter-News
1997: Nick JimenezCorpus Christi Caller-Times
1998: Randy SandersLubbock Avalanche-Journal
1999: Sue SmithThe Dallas Morning News
2000: Tommy MillerHouston Chronicle
2001: Carolina GarciaSan Antonio Express-News
2002: Carroll WilsonWichita Falls Times Record News
2003: Bob MooreEl Paso Times
2004: Terri Burke, Abilene Reporter-News
2005: Lois NorderFort Worth Star-Telegram
2006: Keven Ann WilleyThe Dallas Morning News
2007: Brett ThackerSan Antonio Express-News
2008: Dave BerryTyler Morning Telegraph
2009: Kelly BrownBryan-College Station Eagle
2010-11: Leona AllenThe Dallas Morning News
2012: Shane FitzgeraldCorpus Christi Caller-Times
2013: Yvonne MintzThe Facts, Brazosport
2014: Diana R. FuentesSan Antonio Express-News
2015-16: Dino ChiecchiEl Paso Times
2017-18: John BridgesAustin American-Statesman
2019-21: Mede NixThe Dallas Morning News
2021-22: Mary Ann Cavazos Beckett, Corpus Christi Caller-Times

Submit convention registration fees here.