Texas Managing Editors

Headliners Awards entries due by January 18th

The deadline for getting your entries in for the annual Texas APME Headliners Excellence in Journalism Awards is a month away.

Contest rules have been mailed to your newsrooms and are moving daily on the Texas AP wire. The key date to remember is that your entries must be in the hands of the contest coordinators by 5 p.m. Friday, Jan. 18, 2008.

If you have questions about the rules, please contact the contest coordinators.

Shane Fitzgerald, managing editor of the Corpus Christi Caller-Times, is the coordinator for Class AA and AAAA. Class AA covers papers with a circulation of 10,000 to 29,999. Class AAAA covers papers with a circulation of 125,000 or more.

Sharon Roberts, assistant managing editor of the Austin American-Statesman, is the coordinator for Class A and AAA. Class A covers newspapers with a circulation of up to 9,999. Class AAA covers papers with a circulation of 30,000 to 124,999.

Spanish-language entries should be sent to Dino Chiecchi, director of Hispanic publications for the San Antonio Express-News.

Submit convention registration fees here.