Texas Managing Editors

2014 contest rules now available

It is time to begin assembling your entries for the premier competition in Texas journalism, the Texas APME Headliners Excellence in Journalism Awards. Besides the awards in each circulation division, we will once again pit the four circulation division winners against one another in a second competition, culminating in the Charles E. Green awards bestowed by the Headliners Foundation.

Those Charles E. Green awards are:

  • Star Reporter of the Year
  • Star Photojournalist of the Year
  • Star Designer of the Year
  • Star Investigative Report of the Year
  • Star Breaking News Report of the Year
  • Star Online Report of the Year

Also, don’t forget to send in your best entries for the Newspaper of the Year Award.

The deadline for entries will be midnight, Friday, Jan. 31, 2014 for electronic entries and 5 p.m. Friday, Jan. 31, 2014 for mailed Newspaper of the Year entries. The contest period covers work done from Jan. 1 to Dec. 31, 2013, with exceptions as noted in the rules.

Entries can be submitted online at www.tapmecontest.org/entries/.

A complete copy of the rules is now available for download, as well as classifications by newspaper.

If you have questions about the rules, contact this year’s contest coordinators:

  • (Class 1A and 3A) Debbie Hiott, Editor, Austin American-Statesman, 305 S. Congress Ave., Austin, TX 78704; dhiott@statesman.com or 1-512-912-2937.
  • (Class 2A and 4A) Brian Pearson, 410 W. Erwin St., Tyler, Texas 75702, 903-596-6280 or bpearson@tylerpaper.com.

Board president Yvonne Mintz, Managing Editor, The Facts, 720 S. Main, Clute, TX 77531; yvonne.mintz@thefacts.com or 979-237-0144, also is available for technical help.

ALL checks should be made payable to Texas APME, envelope addressed to Chief of Bureau, The Associated Press, 4851 LBJ Freeway, Suite 300, Dallas, TX 75244.

The winners will be announced at the 2014 convention planned for April 4-6 at The Pearl in South Padre Island, Texas. Awards for first, second and third places and honorable mention all will be available for pickup at the convention this year. See you there!


Submit convention registration fees here.