Texas Managing Editors

2016 contest deadline extended to Feb. 2

Submit your entries here

2016 circulation divisions

**The deadline to post your entries at tapmecontest.org

has been extended to Feb. 2**

Dear Texas APME Members:
It is time to begin assembling your electronic entries for the premier competition in Texas journalism, the Texas APME Headliners Excellence in Journalism Awards. In addition to awards for numerous categories in each circulation classification, we will once again pit the first-place winners in each of the four circulation classifications in the Star categories against one another in a second competition, culminating in the Charles E. Green awards bestowed by the Headliners Foundation.
Those Charles E. Green awards are:
– Star Reporter of the Year
– Star Photojournalist of the Year
– Star Designer of the Year
– Star Investigative Report of the Year
– Star Breaking News Report of the Year
– Star Online Report of the Year
– Star Opinion Writer of the Year

The Star Opinion Writer of the Year is a new category. Texas APME will now be presenting the Star Designer of the Year awards. For more details, check out the 2016 rules.

Also, don’t forget to send in your best entries for the Newspaper of the Year Award.

DEADLINE for entries is midnight Sunday, Jan. 31, 2016, for electronic entries. The mailed Newspaper of the Year entries must be received by 5 p.m. Monday, Feb. 1, 2016. The contest period covers work done from Jan. 1 to Dec. 31, 2015, with exceptions as noted in the 2016 rules.
A complete copy of the rules is here, as well as classifications by newspaper. If you have questions about the rules, contact this year’s contest coordinators:

(Class 1A and 4A) Darren Benson, Managing Editor, The Eagle, 1729 Briarcrest Drive, Bryan, TX, 77808; darren.benson@theeagle.com or 979-731-4653.

(Class 2A and 3A) Mede Nix, deputy news vertical editor, Dallas Morning News, 508 Young Street, Dallas TX 75202; mnix@dallasnews.com or 214-977-7976.

Board President Dino Chiecchi, managing editor-presentation and web, El Paso Times, 500 W. Overland, Suite 150, El Paso, TX 79901; dchiecchi@elpasotimes.com or 915-546-6386, also is available to answer questions about the contest.

All checks should be made payable to Texas APME, envelope addressed to Chief of Bureau, The Associated Press, 4851 LBJ Freeway, Suite 300, Dallas, TX 75244

The winners will be announced at the 2016 convention planned for April 8-10 at the DoubleTree Hotel in El Paso, Texas. Awards for first, second and third places and honorable mention all will be available for pickup at the convention this year. See you there!

Dale Leach

2016 TAPME Contest Rules

Submit your 2016 contest entries

Submit convention registration fees here.