Texas Managing Editors


Texas Managing Editors / Headliners Excellence in Journalism Contest

As we prepare to recognize the best Texas journalism and journalists of 2023, we need to make note of some important updates to the Texas Managing Editors (formerly Texas APME) / Headliners Excellence in Journalism Contest. Please read carefully; the contest entry rules, deadlines and payment requirements have changed for the 2024 contest. Categories have not changed. A PDF version of the rules may be reviewed and downloaded here.

CONTEST PERIOD: Entries published between Jan. 1, 2023, and Dec. 31, 2023, are eligible. Continuous series or projects that began in 2023 and conclude by the UPDATED entry deadline of 11:59 p.m. Jan. 29, 2024, are allowed.

DEADLINE: Entries and entry fees will be accepted from Monday, Dec. 18, to Monday, Jan. 29, 2024. Entries must be uploaded electronically by 11:59 p.m., Jan. 29, 2024. If fees are not paid, entries will not be considered.

HOW TO ENTER: We now require electronic filing for all contest entries. Printed newspapers will no longer be accepted. Instead, newspapers should submit PDFs or links to eEditions for the Newsroom of the Year and all other print categories. List staff members’ names as they should appear on awards. Enter the contest at https://tme-awards.spoffordfamily.com. Descriptions of the contest categories and rules are below.

Continue reading “2024 Texas Managing Editors contest rules”

1929-1950: James R. RecordFort Worth Star-Telegram
1950: Tanner T. Hunt, Beaumont Enterprise
1951: Charles A. GuyLubbock Avalanche-Journal
1952: J.Q. MahaffeyTexarkana Gazette and News
1953: Dwight AllisonSan Antonio Light
1954: Harry BlandingTemple Telegram
1955: Ray ParrAmarillo Globe-News
1956: Roderick J. WattsHouston Chronicle
1957: Bill CollynsMidland Reporter-Telegram
1958: Felix R. McKnightDallas Times Herald
1959: Ed. N. WishcamperAbilene Reporter-News
1960: Bill LathamEl Paso Times
1961: John EllisFort Worth Star-Telegram
1962: Dave HosterVictoria Advocate
1963: Charles O. Kilpatrick, San Antonio Express-News
1964: William C. DozierTyler Courier-Times-Telegraph
1965: Robert M. JacksonCorpus Christi Caller-Times
1966: Edwin D. HunterHouston Post
1967: Jack B. KruegerThe Dallas Morning News
1968: Joe PickleBig Spring Herald
1969: Clayte BinionHouston Chronicle
1970: John L. StallingsCorpus Christi Caller-Times
1971: Don BoyetteBeaumont Enterprise and Journal
1972: Jack DouglasFort Worth Star-Telegram
1973: Dick TarpleyAbilene Reporter-News
1974: Tom SimmonsThe Dallas Morning News
1975: Bill MartinSan Angelo Standard-Times
1976: Everett Taylor, Tyler Courier-Times-Telegraph
1977: John AndersonCorpus Christi Caller-Times
1978: Olin AshleyOdessa American
1979: Jack TinsleyFort Worth Star-Telegram
1980: Fritz WirtDel Rio News-Herald
1981: Buster HaasThe Dallas Morning News
1982: Burle PettitLubbock Avalanche-Journal
1983: Kuyk LoganHouston Post
1984: Jerry HuffAmarillo Globe-News
1985: Phil SchochSan Angelo Standard-Times
1986: John MooreEl Paso Times
1987: Dub BrownPort Arthur News
1988: Jeff BruceLongview News-Journal
1989: Terry Scott BertlingEl Paso Herald-Post
1990: Tony PedersonHouston Chronicle
1991: Ed RademaekersSan Antonio Light
1992: Olaf FrandsenOdessa American
1993: Paula MooreEl Paso Times
1994: Wanda CashGalveston County Daily News
1995: Mike BlackmanFort Worth Star-Telegram
1996: Glenn DromgooleAbilene Reporter-News
1997: Nick JimenezCorpus Christi Caller-Times
1998: Randy SandersLubbock Avalanche-Journal
1999: Sue SmithThe Dallas Morning News
2000: Tommy MillerHouston Chronicle
2001: Carolina GarciaSan Antonio Express-News
2002: Carroll WilsonWichita Falls Times Record News
2003: Bob MooreEl Paso Times
2004: Terri Burke, Abilene Reporter-News
2005: Lois NorderFort Worth Star-Telegram
2006: Keven Ann WilleyThe Dallas Morning News
2007: Brett ThackerSan Antonio Express-News
2008: Dave BerryTyler Morning Telegraph
2009: Kelly BrownBryan-College Station Eagle
2010-11: Leona AllenThe Dallas Morning News
2012: Shane FitzgeraldCorpus Christi Caller-Times
2013: Yvonne MintzThe Facts, Brazosport
2014: Diana R. FuentesSan Antonio Express-News
2015-16: Dino ChiecchiEl Paso Times
2017-18: John BridgesAustin American-Statesman
2019-21: Mede NixThe Dallas Morning News
2021-22: Mary Ann Cavazos Beckett, Corpus Christi Caller-Times

Each year the Headliners Foundation presents the Charles E. Green Awards in six select categories to the best print and broadcast journalists in the state. The print awards are presented in partnership with the Texas Managing Editors, and the broadcast awards are presented in partnership with the Texas Association of Broadcasters.

The Green Awards are part of the Foundation’s robust journalism awards program, which also includes the Showcase Awards for Enterprise and Innovation in Journalism. Through these contests, the Foundation awards $33,000 annually to Texas’ best journalists.

The Green Award for STAR PHOTOJOURNALIST OF THE YEAR goes to Sam Owens from the San Antonio Express-News

The judge in this category remarked that “Sam Owens’ photographs bring us close. That’s what struck me as I looked at her portfolio of work from the aftermath of the Uvalde shooting. Her images stopped me with their intimacy. They drew me in and kept me there.” The judge also noted that “It’s not startling that her pictures evoke emotion, not with this subject matter. What’s notable is how Owens lures us to look close.”

Continue reading “Headliners Foundation announces the Charles E. Green Awards”

Submit convention registration fees here.